IndianaOpenWheel.com Sprint Car & Midget Racing Forum
Forgot Password?

Reply  Indiana Open Wheel > Indiana Open Wheel Forum > Joining Midget Org a Waste of Money
3/2/09, 10:59 AM   #1
Joining Midget Org a Waste of Money
DonMoore10

I've joined a lot of organizations over the years. When I was a public skool teacher, I was always a member of the teacher's union (called an "association" in Ohio) and I'm currently associated with a health plan organization which calls for a monthly payment to stay in good standing. Now there is no question in my mind about the benefits of these two organizations. Both publish a detailed book that explains coverage and benefits from A to Z. In fact, I just received in the mail a few days ago a 45 page booklet explaining from top to bottom what my health insurance payments cover. No stones left unturned with these people.

Also in recent mail came a "plea for fees" from one of the midget orgs. Yeah, they want me to send them $XXX.XX to "register". OK so far. Now what am I "registering" for anyway? It says on the paper that I get to keep my same number. Well, my "number" hasn't changed since I bought my first race car in 2002. So that's not worth $XXX.XX. It also says that I get a provisional if I'm in the top ten in points but the org will deduct last place money from my winnings. Well, that leaves me out, I've never been in the top ten and that deduction is no bargain.