IndianaOpenWheel.com Sprint Car & Midget Racing Forum
Forgot Password?

Reply  Indiana Open Wheel > Indiana Open Wheel Forum > Changing the gear on a mini sprint
9/7/09, 8:23 PM   #1
Changing the gear on a mini sprint
Jrp4554

Everyone tells me that the best way to change the gear is to move the rear axle forward by shortening the radius rods and adjusting the torsion arms heim out. It just seems like it would be easier to take the chain tensioner off. WHat's the general consensus?

Thanks in advance, I'm new to the whole chain thing.

9/14/09, 6:17 PM   #2
Re: Changing the gear on a mini sprint
ringo18

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrp4554 View Post
Everyone tells me that the best way to change the gear is to move the rear axle forward by shortening the radius rods and adjusting the torsion arms heim out. It just seems like it would be easier to take the chain tensioner off. WHat's the general consensus?

Thanks in advance, I'm new to the whole chain thing.
It really depends on how much of a gear change you are making. You can loosen the chain tensioner and adjust your tension that way, if you're making a small change. If you are making a bigger change you will also have to adjust the radius rods and the torsion arms to keep your bird cages in time. Keep track of the amount of turns on your radius rods and heims to keep the axle square in the chassis.

9/16/09, 11:37 AM   #3
Cincinnati Kid

Ringo18 is right. Depending on what kind of tensioner you are running. If it is a roller with a spring, you may need to swap the spring for a longer or shorter one depending on which way you go with the gear. If you are running a FOZ type tensioner, which the chain runs through two block, you can open or close up the blocks. As said before, the birdcage timing is important and you will notice a difference in the rear end if they are not adjusted correctly. Hope this helps.

10/18/09, 12:27 AM   #4
Jus Roach