IndianaOpenWheel.com Sprint Car & Midget Racing Forum

Register! Forgot Password?
Aces&Eights (Offline)
  #1 4/10/16 12:54 PM
I'm new to sprints and learning as much possible as quick as I can. I've been looking into the "GM602 Crate" based wingless idea and
one of the issues pointed out was a modification to the cam for rear drive pumps. All my questions are Only in regards to wingless Sprints.

1) Do all sprints require cam modifications for pumps or are cams ordered with mounting holes already included?
2) Are there other ways utilized or is the rear cam drive the standard?
3) If you were starting a "New" Non-wing Series/Sanction and it was geared more towards lower costs/entry level.
What engine package would be most appealing? Crates or Spec?

4) If crate was the choice, which crate would be most appealing? GM602, GM604 or maybe GM SP383?
5) If it were a Spec engine, what would be the most appealing package and displacement?
6) Lastly, the northern 602 Wingless cars are not serviceable engines. Would you rather the engines be rebuild-able or throw away?
7) What sort of tire rule would be good for keeping costs in consideration?

thanks
latemodel55 (Offline)
  #2 4/10/16 2:10 PM
Check this out. Has been working very good for us.
irawinglesssprints.com.
Aces&Eights (Offline)
  #3 4/10/16 3:37 PM
Originally Posted by latemodel55:
Check this out. Has been working very good for us.
irawinglesssprints.com.
Nice. Now that seems cool.

How many cars y'all usually get?

What engine most popular?
Graham08 (Offline)
  #4 4/11/16 11:30 AM
In regards to the cam drive question, it's an option from most cam suppliers to have the back of the cam drilled and tapped for the rear drive. Most engine builders are capable of doing this as well, a couple of supermodifieds I've been involved in have had to get cams drilled and tapped because they didn't originally come that way.