Sprint Car & Midget Racing Forum
Forgot Password?

Reply  Indiana Open Wheel > Indiana Open Wheel Forum > 72nd Opening Night at Angell Park Speedway - May 20
Thread Tools
5/17/18, 8:22 AM   #1
72nd Opening Night at Angell Park Speedway - May 20
Ray3 is offline
Senior Member

Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 405

Zach Boden (#2 Ford) and Tyler Baran (#11 Chevy)

"72nd Opening Night at Angell Park Speedway - May 20” "All Stars & IRA Sprint Cars, Badger Midgets on race slate”


Sun Prairie, Wis., May 16---A diversified schedule highlights the seventy-second year of racing at Angell Park Speedway which begins, Sunday Night May 20. The event is the first of the nine-race season at the popular 1/3-mile clay oval.

The event will feature a complete program for the Zimbrick Chevrolet of Sun Prairie Badger Midget Series which will appear at all nine events this season. The event will be co-sanctioned with the POWRi Lucas Oil Regional Midget Series. Bill Balog won the Badger season opener on April 29 at Beaver Dam Raceway. Grandstand seating opens at 3:30 pm; practice at 6:00 pm; racing to follow.

The season's first “Badger driver meet & greet" will take place at the Badger Fan Club Souvenir trailer for 30 minutes behind the grandstand starting at 5:20 pm. This will give fans the opportunity to meet their favorite drivers. The BMARA Fan Club Kids Club will be giving away two bikes at every race this season.

Sunday’s “Tony Stewart Sprint Spectacular” features an IRA Bumper to Bumper Outlaw Sprint Car Series and The Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions co-sanctioned event. Stewart and 2015 Pepsi Midget Nationals champion Rico Abreu are also slated to compete.

Other sanctioning bodies competing during the season at the track include: POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League, Wisconsin wingLESS Sprint Car Series, POWRi Lucas Oil WAR Sprint Car League, MSA 360 Winged Sprints, Wisconsin Dirt Legends, and Vintage Modified Association.
Here are some points of interest for this weekend’s opener:

---Billy Wood and Kevin Olson each have five Angell Park Speedway (APS) opening night feature victories to lead all drivers. Other multiple winners include: Keith Thomas with four wins. Miles Melius, Kevin Doty, Dan Boorse, and Jerry Coons with three each. Two-time winners are: Boyd Calvert, Marty Davis, Davey Ray, Brad Kuhn and Scott Hatton. Both Olson and Hatton will be competing in Sunday’s race events.

---Seven of the last twenty years the APS opening night feature winner has also won the Badger Championship: Dan Boorse (1999), Aaron Fike (2002), Scott Hatton (2004), Brad Kuhn (2006 & 07), Bubba Altig (2011) and Christopher Bell (2014).

---Eleven times opening night has suffered a rain-out forcing postponement to the next available race night.
1 member likes this post: tirespinner
Reply Indiana Open Wheel > Indiana Open Wheel Forum > 72nd Opening Night at Angell Park Speedway - May 20

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 6:15 PM.

Make your homepage
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2005-2018
Mobile VersionLinks: Dave Merritt - Chris Pedersen - Carey Fox - Carey Akin - Joe Bennett - Brandon Murray - Dave Roach - John DaDalt - Racin; With D.O. - Jackslash Media