IndianaOpenWheel.com Sprint Car & Midget Racing Forum
Forgot Password?

Reply  Indiana Open Wheel > Indiana Open Wheel Forum > Why Fuel Injection?
1/8/17, 5:34 PM   #1
Why Fuel Injection?
Aces&Eights

Race Count This Year: 3

I'm a recent convert to sprints, my background is karting and Dirt Late Models since 1986, so Fuel injection was no where around. I live in the SE(Georgia) and we have no sprints unless a touring outfit comes thru, its been 15 years at least since I saw a WoO show. Anyway as I'm attempting to further my sprint education I wanted to ask, why do sprints almost universally run mechanical fuel injection? Is it a matter of tradition or is there a performance advantage? Thank you for taking the time to share your knowledge with a new non-wing convert. Secondly, who's system do you prefer and why?

Peace.

1/8/17, 8:32 PM   #2
Re: Why Fuel Injection?
Charles Nungester

Race Count This Year: 6
Race Count Last Year: 14

Id go more to the point of why Carburetors? To keep the appearance of a STOCK CAR?

It's more efficient. I remember the whole GM V6 line was junk until they went with injection.
Last edited by Charles Nungester; 1/9/17 at 11:42 AM.

1 member likes this post: Bobby7j
1/8/17, 8:45 PM   #3
Bobby7j

Race Count This Year: 25
Race Count Last Year: 7

I'm an old timer our reason along with a mag you need no battery or charging system!Engler is top or the line on many type applications
Last edited by Bobby7j; 1/8/17 at 8:55 PM.

1/8/17, 9:10 PM   #4
red70racer

Definitely a performance advantage
Single runners feeding fuel to each cylinder never has a lean or rich cylinder like a shared plenum of an intake manifold
There's no float bowl to slosh over, or run dry so you don't have to worry about the g forces in a turn upsetting fuel delivery
With that all said we ran a 305 that had carbs and FI, after initial excelleration the carbureted engines ran competitvly with the FI engines