IndianaOpenWheel.com Sprint Car & Midget Racing Forum
Forgot Password?

Reply  Indiana Open Wheel > Indiana Open Wheel Forum > Does chassis age matter?
10/30/14, 5:38 PM   #1
Does chassis age matter?
wingtrail

I am new to dirt racing and just bought a used sprint car. The chassis is an 04' but comes with paperwork and is straight off the table/checked. Most of the bolt ons are pretty new, maybe 8-10 races old. If the car is dead straight, and the bolt on pieces are in new/good shape, does the year or the chassis really matter? I've gotten a few conflicting opinions, I just thought I'd ask here and see the consensus.

10/30/14, 5:42 PM   #2
Leohr46

The big difference is the older cars are heavier. But they will also not bend as easily in a crash.
I have been running a 98 or 99 Doemelt.
It's old. It's heavy. It works for me.

10/30/14, 5:53 PM   #3
therocket50

I say as long as the chassis is straight and the spuds arent wore out its not much of an issue unless you think so in your head. If on a budget id spend the extra money on suspension,brakes,motor, rotating weight, and most of all good safety gear. I have yet to ever hear a good argument why the year of the chassis matters

2 members like this post: bn kleen, bobO
10/30/14, 5:54 PM   #4
badcoupe

Over time the materials can stress etc but I don't think it really bothers things perhaps under the right conditions may be a benefit. As was mentioned earlier they can be a bit heavier. My brother used to drive a tq midget for a guy that was built new in 74 and still won with it.

10/30/14, 7:57 PM   #5
Re: Does chassis age matter?
TQ29m

Quote:
Originally Posted by badcoupe View Post
Over time the materials can stress etc but I don't think it really bothers things perhaps under the right conditions may be a benefit. As was mentioned earlier they can be a bit heavier. My brother used to drive a tq midget for a guy that was built new in 74 and still won with it.