IndianaOpenWheel.com Sprint Car & Midget Racing Forum

Register! Forgot Password?
ADM (Offline)
  #1 9/4/13 9:19 PM
I acquired a sprint car and it has a rear end that I can not identify. I am new to this so it may be a very common item. I attached some pictures. Any help would be great.

Thanks
Rich
Poorboyjocko (Offline)
  #2 9/4/13 9:38 PM
I want ot say it is a Jones rearend. Made in the early 80's in Indianapolis, but I might be wrong..
badcoupe (Offline)
  #3 9/4/13 9:50 PM
I just sold a jones midget rear it said jones qc400 on the left side just ahead of the quick change area on the lower rib. It could be a halibrand as well. have you pulled the cover to see how many spline the gears are? Most likely 6 spline.
sprintracer82 (Offline)
  #4 9/4/13 11:02 PM
If didnt know any better I'd say its a National rearend. Its been a while since I've seen one. It looks like there is some letters on the rear cover.
LEADERS EDGE (Offline)
  #5 9/4/13 11:24 PM
I have to say I believe it's a National Halibrand.
Go Fast (Offline)
  #6 9/5/13 12:43 AM
Not a Jones. Shifter on the Jones rears was in the front. Short stub input shaft and the coupler ran on that.

The side cover ribs look like an old National rear I used to have.

Gary Ooley

I never had a bad day, just some more challenging than others!
Racerrob (Offline)
  #7 9/5/13 1:15 AM
That is definitely a National Halibrand.
jmarsicano (Offline)
  #8 9/5/13 11:21 AM
Its a Mutt rear. Part this... part that...

Looks like a Halibrand lower shaft assembly and shifter, a franklin case and cover.

If it works... run it.
Gapinski (Offline)
  #9 9/5/13 8:21 PM