IndianaOpenWheel.com Sprint Car & Midget Racing Forum
Forgot Password?

Reply  Indiana Open Wheel > Indiana Open Wheel Forum > Kenny Dobson - Bob Sargent - Illinois input?
5/11/20, 12:39 PM   #1
Kenny Dobson - Bob Sargent - Illinois input?
Indy1808

Race Count This Year: 37
Race Count Last Year: 35

I was hoping 1 or both (of the best modern day promoters) might share what they can about the real information about opening up Illinois racing venues and the realties of the remaining 2020 season in Illinois. Thank You in advance.
"Sitting in the Stands " #noteamracing

3 members like this post: ISF, luckybuc97, racenut69
5/11/20, 1:31 PM   #2
Re: Kenny Dobson - Bob Sargent - Illinois input?
chathamracefan

I'm not a promoter but live in the state. As of now, based on the governor's edict, I think the earliest crowds of 50 could gather is late June. He is also saying no events until there is either a vaccine, therapeutic treatment or some period of no new cases.

Seems this year is in dire straits at the moment. Not even scheduled to allow restaurants to start reopening for inside service until late June. IMO, the feds are going to be getting involved in Illinois at some point. Just a hunch on my part.

2 members like this post: flagboy55, skids59
5/11/20, 1:46 PM   #3
axman897

When you start looking at the guidelines handed down and how difficult they would be to reach, racing looks like it will be difficult in IL. The good news is that testing metrics are looking better and hospitalizations are dropping. Even the Chicago Tribune had a rather pointed article about the phased reopening plan. Something has to change. I have a feeling it will be sooner than later.

3 members like this post: flagboy55, Indy1808, skids59
5/11/20, 2:43 PM   #4
ISF

Quote:
Originally Posted by axman897 View Post
Even the Chicago Tribune had a rather pointed article about the phased reopening plan.