IndianaOpenWheel.com Sprint Car & Midget Racing Forum
Forgot Password?

Closed Thread  Indiana Open Wheel > Indiana Open Wheel Forum > Usac: Silver crown’s chief: Cockrum to chase usac title in 2
1/3/22, 4:00 PM   #1
Usac: Silver crown’s chief: Cockrum to chase usac title in 2
admin

1/3/22 3:51 PM SILVER CROWN’S CHIEF: COCKRUM TO CHASE USAC TITLE IN 2022

http://usacracing.com/news/silver-cr...-title-in-2022

SILVER CROWN’S CHIEF: COCKRUM TO CHASE USAC TITLE IN 2022

By: Richie Murray – USAC Media

Speedway, Indiana (January 3, 2022)………For the first time in his career, Shane Cockrum and BLS Motorsports will chase a USAC Silver Crown championship in 2022.

The Benton, Ill. native, and fire chief for the city by trade, owns 47 career series starts since 2011, but just three of them have occurred on pavement.* Now, the four-time Silver Crown race winner is prepared to run the whole 11-race deal on dirt and pavement in the coming year for BLS, with five dirt races and six on pavement on the docket.

The dirt has been his been Cockrum’s playground in the series, winning the Ted Horn 100 on back-to-back occasions at the Du Quoin (Ill.) State Fairgrounds in 2014-15, the Sumar Classic at the Terre Haute (Ind.) Action Track in 2015, and the Williams Grove 100 at the Mechanicsburg, Pa. dirt oval in 2021.

The 2021 victory also came in Cockrum’s first career start for the brand-new BLS team, and the instant success on the tour’s dirt tracks gave the team confidence to expand their operation to the entire schedule in the new year.

“We knew that it would be a process,” Cockrum admitted.* “We have some experienced team members, but we had a new team, so getting them to jell and get good results quickly is sometimes easier said than done.* Fortunately, on the dirt side of things, we were pleasantly surprised it came around as fast as it did, which opened this thing up and allowed us to venture into the races that it’s going to take to win a championship.”