IndianaOpenWheel.com Sprint Car & Midget Racing Forum
Forgot Password?

Reply  Indiana Open Wheel > Indiana Open Wheel Forum > Looking to get into open wheel
11/21/18, 8:20 PM   #1
Looking to get into open wheel
Kjohns421

I’m sure there are many posts over this, but I can’t find any that answer all my questions. I’m looking to get into sprints but don’t have 50k a year to spend on it. I’m reading about 305s, minis, micros, midgets, and don’t really know what is right for me. I have about 12 years racing experience from karting to pro woods sidexsides and quads. I’ve always wanted to race a V8 but don’t know if I have the budget in order to do it. Can anyone give me some info on what is the best fit for me? I’m racing on a budget but devote to a sport once I get in. I’m also considering sportbike racing but sprints are my first choice. My dad raced both in his day and I am fortunate to have a dad that has the infamous terry pletch on speed dial

1 member likes this post: Al Pierce
11/21/18, 8:32 PM   #2
hsracer338

Pm sent

11/21/18, 8:46 PM   #3
Re: Looking to get into open wheel
Eric Smith

Where do you live?

11/21/18, 9:07 PM   #4
Kjohns421

North of Indianapolis about 40 miles off of i65. South of Lafayette a little bit

11/22/18, 1:51 AM   #5
motorhead748

If I told you my salary and owned raced wing 410's and was able to win at most every track I ran at you'd call me a liar. If you have the desire it is possible. Granted my time was 20 years ago but it's not hugely different today.

1 member likes this post: sprinter6
11/22/18, 8:58 AM   #6
hoscalecody