IndianaOpenWheel.com Sprint Car & Midget Racing Forum
Forgot Password?

Reply  Indiana Open Wheel > Indiana Open Wheel Forum > Saving Pavement Racing
9/4/16, 10:24 AM   #1
Saving Pavement Racing
Therealether

So, it's no surprise that pavement racing is quickly becoming extinct. I grew up in Joliet IL in the days of weekly racing at the Stadium. Old timer you say? No, I'm just shy of 40 years old. Back then cars slipping and sliding all over the place, and drivers had to really "drive" the car. They fought each other hard on the track, jockeying for position lap after lap. Even in the later years as they moved to Grundy, the racing was must see. More times than I can count, the Grundy stands were nearly SRO. These days, they draw more flies than fans and its getting worse. From USAC, to your local short track, it's suffering. But why?
Mind you, I'm no expert, but here's my opinion.
The racing just isn't that good anymore. I blame the cars. Ever since the downtube chassis, and also the big offset, the cars are almost on a rail. It more often than not takes a mistake by the guy in front of you to execute a pass.
My sister went with me to a pavement midget race here in FL 20 years ago during Speedweeks. She hadnt seen a midget race since about 1982. She was disappointed that they weren't "fighting" for it around the track. That trend has continued.
STARS was doomed to fail, simply maintaining the status quo of its predecessors. USAC just keeps throwing everything at the wall waiting for something to stick, while trying to copy POWRI.