View Single Post
8/17/19, 11:01 AM   #8
Re: Aug. 17th – Lawrenceburg Speedway – Dick Gaines Memorial
Sandy Lowe
Sandy Lowe is offline
Senior Member

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,239

16th Annual Dick Gaines Memorial Tonight at Lawrenceburg Speedway

Dickie Gaines leads the Kelsey Chevrolet Sprints into tonight’s Dick Gaines Memorial at the Lawrenceburg Speedway in Lawrenceburg, Ind. The 16th running of the race honoring his late father, Hall of Famer Dick Gaines, may be Dickie’s best chance yet of taking home this coveted win and the $3,000 winner’s check that goes along with it.

Although the younger Gaines has come close, a second-place finish to Bryan Clauson in the inaugural race, victory has eluded him. He is the sentimental favorite, if not THE favorite, after winning two features this year and leading the point standings at “The Burg.”

Nipping at Gaines’ heels is three-time Lawrenceburg Speedway champion Joss Moffatt. Moffatt hasn’t made it to Sign-A-Rama Victory Lane yet this season, but his consistency of four top five’s, including a pair of runner-up finishes, has him a mere 25 points behind Gaines in the season standings. Moffatt has also come oh, so close to a Dick Gaines Memorial win, finishing second to Chase Stockon (2014) and Josh Hodges (2016).

2009 Rookie of the Year JJ Hughes sits third in the standings after scoring a popular feature win back on June 29th. Showing lots of speed this season Hughes is only 75 points in arrears with four races remaining. Although he hasn’t competed in many Dick Gaines Memorial races, Hughes does have a top-five, finishing fourth in 2010.

Nick Bilbee, winner of the 2015 Sheldon Kinser Memorial at the Bloomington Speedway, would love to add a Dick Gaines Memorial trophy to his mantel. Bilbee has won four times at Lawrenceburg, including the BOSS race back on May 18th. Bilbee’s best showing in the Gaines Memorial was last season’s fourth-place finish.

Rounding out the top five in the Kelsey Chevrolet Sprint points is defending track champion Garrett Abrams. Abrams has three third-place finishes in five starts this season. He was one of the fastest cars on the track at the end of our last race, passing ten cars to earn the Hard Charger Award. Abrams finished third in the Dick Gaines Memorial last year, one of four top-ten finishes in the last six years.

With defending and two-time Dick Gaines Memorial winner Robert Ballou sidelined with an arm injury suffered at the Kokomo Speedway back in June, we should have a first-time winner tonight. Although Gaines, Moffatt, Hughes, Bilbee, and Abrams may be the favorites, you can’t rule out former track champions Shawn Westerfeld (2014) and Jarett Andretti (2016).

Westerfeld’s best finish in a Dick Gaines Memorial came two years ago with a fourth-place finish, but he knows his way around the high banks of the Lawrenceburg Speedway with seven feature wins under his belt.

Andretti is the hottest driver in the last three seasons to not win the Dick Gaines Memorial. After third-place finishes in 2016 and 2017, Andretti looked poised for the win last year until a last-lap charge by Robert Ballou on the high side in turns three and four relegated him to second place, falling just 0.121 seconds short.

On the card tonight with the Kelsey Chevrolet Sprints will be the KOI Auto Parts UMP Modifieds, Impact Sports Pure Stocks, and the Bessler’s U Pull & Save Hornets. This will be the last opportunity for hornet drivers to qualify for next weekend’s Hornet Nationals.

Gates will open at 5:00 pm with practice set to begin at 6:00 pm and racing at 7:00 pm. General admission is $18, children 7-12 are $7, and those 6 and under are free. Pit passes are $30 for all ages.

Tonight is also “47025 Night at the Races” and any resident with a 47025 zip code who presents a valid driver’s license to prove residency at the main front gate entrance will receive free general admission for themselves and their children.

The Lawrenceburg Speedway is also hosting a Pet Food & Toy Drive in conjunction with their friends at Kroger. For each item you bring to donate you will receive a chance to win a $100 Kroger gift card.

August 17, 2019 – Lawrenceburg Speedway
16th Annual Dick Gaines Memorial

• Kelsey Chevrolet Sprints
• KOI Auto Parts UMP Modifieds
• Impact Sports Pure Stocks
• Bessler’s U Pull & Save Hornets

4:00 pm Pit gate Opens
5:00 pm Front Gate Opens
6:00 pm Practice
7:00 pm Opening Ceremonies

General Admission:
Adult $18
Children (7-12) $7
Under 6 FREE

Pit Pass: $30 (all ages)

Special promotions, tickets, and Family Four Packs are only redeemable at the main front gate entrance.

Pit passes cannot be purchased as an upgrade from a promo ticket, Family Four Pack, or a theme night.
1 member likes this post: tirespinner