IndianaOpenWheel.com

Indiana Open Wheel (https://www.indianaopenwheel.com/index.php)
-   Indiana Open Wheel Forum (https://www.indianaopenwheel.com/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Noobie here, need advice on 360 Sprint startup cost (https://www.indianaopenwheel.com/showthread.php?t=68363)

AndrewCali 5/3/13 4:33 AM

Noobie here, need advice on 360 Sprint startup cost

Hi folks, my name is Andrew, I am 20 years old, and from Long Beach California. I have limited racing experience. I am looking to take up Cory Krusemans 2-Day dirt racing school out here in Ventura California. From there, I would like to start up a very small operation and run 360 non-winged sprint cars in the USAC West Coast Sprint Car Series over here in my region.

I just want to know how much does 360 sprint car racing cost in general? When conducting my research I've read a wide variety of figures. I have read articles on mainstream websites citing how it costs 50k-100k just for a car, which is definitely very expensive for me; But on classified ads such as on this forum, I've seen ads where "Race Ready" Non-winged 360 sprint cars are going for 6k-20k. As an Emergency medical technician, I would make approximately 32k a year, I would like to dedicate 25k/year of my salary for racing while in college, So would 25k be enough to get started? Lets say I bought a 'race ready' 360 sprint car for 13k, brought a 1.2k hauler a 3k tow truck, and 1k for driver equipment. Would the $8,000 I had left be enough for other expenses and equipment that I might need?

Sorry for all the math, basically I just want to know is can I reach the race track with 25 thousand on hand.

Or if not, could I save up for two years and have 50k on hand to startup?

Any advice would be appreciated since I am a newbie :14:.

Thank You.

cmiracingvids 5/3/13 6:12 AM

It all depends on what you're looking to do. Do you want to just go have some fun on the weekends? Or do you wish to someday race the Indy 500?